3.1 General description, history, and key data of the administrative system

There exist central and territorial entities of governance in the State administration agencies of the Republic of Lithuania. The establishments of central Government shall be the Government and ministries, which are formed to govern separate spheres of the State life. Territorial entities of public administration are constituted to govern separate territories of the State. The highest territorial unit of the State governing in Lithuania shall be county. At present there are ten counties in Lithuania.